ZUSM  is composed of 7 departments: Basic Medicine, Public Health, First Clinical Medicine, Second Clinical Medicine, Third Clinical Medicine, Dental Medicine and Nursing. Apart from these academic departments, there are 7 affiliated hospitals. It has been authorized to set up five mobile post-doctoral stations and 8 first-level discipline doctoral degree programs, for example Basic Medicine, Clinical Medicine and oral medicine. Being approved as one of the first Extraordinary Medical Talents programs by the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Health in 2015 and the first clinical post-doctoral training project pilot unit by Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security, ZUSM set up major teaching platforms including a virtual simulation experimental teaching center at the national level and four experimental teaching centers at the provincial level. It also delivered national excellent resource sharing courses, visual public courses and courses of the Chinese Medical Education MOOC Union.